Leave a comment

Ron Paul and The Killing of Anwar al-Awlaki

“If the American people accept this blindly and casually, have a precedent of an American president assassinating people who he thinks are bad, I think that’s sad,” – Ron Paul

When I first heard about the killing of Anwar al-Awlaki I was thrilled.  Well, to be honest, I had never heard of the guy but the article said he was an al Qaeda American born leader.   Great!  He’s dead.  End of story.

This was until I read about Ron Paul’s comments and what he said made perfect sense.  “If the American people accept this blindly and casually, have a precedent of an American president assassinating people who he thinks are bad, I think that’s sad,”

Issue an arrest warrant, get him and try him in court.  This seems simple enough, except perhaps the capture part.  But wait, they knew where al-Awlaki was located…because they killed him.

Before I continue I want to state that I do not support or think that this al-Awlaki was a good guy or that we should feel sorry for him.  I’m sure he was an absolute terrible, rotten person.   He was probably ready to do harm to Americans or others around the world.

We have rules in this country.  You are innocent until proven guilty.  Let me repeat this…innocent until proven guilty.  If we are going to have the laws and rules we need to follow them.   Capture the American and try him in a court and once he is proven guilty…fry the bastard.  Let’s do this right. 

If the evidence was clear, I’m sure it would have been easy to convict this guy.  I don’t want another 9/11.  I don’t want another terrorist attack.  But we must not blindly accept these sorts of actions.  It may be difficult at first but we need to change the way we handle the war on terror.  

Let’s get back to the constitution.

ABC News Article Link – Ron Paul Scolds Obama on Suspected Terrorist Hit

Leave a Reply

