Leave a comment

The San Pinto Times Author Interview With Mike Cooley

Author Name: Mike Cooley
Book Title(s): The Crystal Warrior
Book Category/Genre: Epic Fantasy

 

 

 

 

Link to book(s): http://www.amazon.com/Crystal-Warrior-Legend-Crystals-ebook/dp/B004RPZRMK/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_3

Any other links you would like to share:
http://mikecooleyfiction.com/ (my blog)

Tell us what the book is about:

The Crystal Warrior is about Larissya, who doesn’t realize that she isn’t just the simple daughter of farmers, but rather the key to saving her world from the forces of evil.

What would you say the theme of the book is?

The theme is good and evil, darkness and light, and growing up fast.

Do you have a favorite character from your novel(s)?

That’s a tough one. I love Larissya, but I also am quite fond of Taradahn. He starts out as a gigantic, part-reptilian bird and goes through some tremendous changes throughout the course of the novel.

What motivates you to write? Do you write everyday?

My motivation is storytelling and therapy. I love the act of creation. I do write everyday, but not always on projects that get published. My full time job and other obligations get in the way of how many hours I would like to devote to writing.

Who would be most interested in this novel?

I think anyone that likes magic and action and strong female characters will love this book.

What prompted you to write the book?

An idea popped into my head about the way the crystals would work. There are six crystals and they all have different powers. But there is a price to pay for using them. Then I wrote the first page, and the story took off.

Who are your favorite authors?

I have lots of favorite authors. My favorite female author is James Tiptree Jr. (Alice Sheldon), and my favorite male author is Phillip K. Dick.

Would one of your books be a good movie?

I think The Crystal Warrior would make a great movie. I have a very visual style. And it’s action all the way.

What is your dream job?

Probably supporting myself writing fiction and music while living somewhere nice (Hawaii, New Zealand,…)

What projects do you have planned for the future?

Lots of them! I’m working on a book about my time in Egypt called “Before The Revolution — 13 Days In Egypt” and also working on book 2 in the fantasy series, which will be called “Crystal Origin.”

Leave a Reply

